Kara DioGuardi Discusses Battle With Eating Disorder

010809
FOX

Kara DioGuardi may be sitting in judgment of others these days, but she also has a history of being extremely hard on herself.

Describing a time in her life before her music-biz success helped shape the woman you see today, the newest American Idol judge talked to Extra about battling an eating disorder some years ago.

“I’ve never spoken about this,” the 38-year-old songwriter-producer said in a recent interview. “I had kind of a binge eating disorder where, instead of dealing with my emotions, I would stuff them down with food.”

“I never threw up or starved myself,” DioGuardi continued. But she would get up to eat in the middle of the night and, eventually, she sought treatment for what ailed her.

“It was definitely that excess eating to kind of just stuff all the emotions down,” the brunette beauty said. “I really was a creative kid who didn’t know she was creative and didn’t have those outlets because I was always afraid to join the theater group and not perform.”

Her entrée into singing and the recording industry helped pull her out of that dangerous spiral, as well.

“The moment I started doing music, the moment I did what I loved to do in my life and committed to it, I don’t have those problems anymore,” she said. “I have my outlet. I have that form of expression. I can go to the studio and talk about my feelings.”

But , DioGuardi added, “I had this craziness in my head that I had to be perfect all the time and I face it now on Idol 25 years later. It’s kind of like, ‘Oh god, why did I say that? Why did I do this?’ But I made this commitment in my life to face my fears and if I am afraid of something, I make sure I do it.”

Besides, Idol is the place for her to be if she doesn’t want the masses to be focusing too much on her comments.

As the more coherent of the two female judges on Idol, DioGuardi has been facing rumors since day one that she was brought on to replace Paula Abdul come season nine of the perennial ratings winner.

All official comments from those close to the situation have denied such a thing.

celebritynewsspotlight

Leave a Reply

