I’m A Celebrity: Katie Price dumps Alex Reid live on air

It’s perhaps not the most tactful way to end a relationship, but Katie Price ensured maximum exposure when she dumped boyfriend Alex Reid live on air last night.

The cagefighter had just landed in Australia after flying thousands of miles to see his girlfriend of four months, who was competing on I’m A Celebrity… Get Me Out Of Here!

He planned to propose. Instead Katie summoned him to her hotel room and told him she was fed up with him ‘making money from her’ and then went on live TV to tell the nation.

The former glamour model left the I’m A Celebrity jungle two weeks early on Sunday after the public kept forcing her to endure ‘bushtucker trials’.

But despite this, the 31-year-old will forfeit just £100,000 from her £350,000 appearance fee, and is expected to make as much as £1million in magazine, advertising and television deals.

Last night presenters Ant McPartlin and Declan Donnelly spoke to her live on air for the first time since her departure.

Miss Price said she had done a ‘lot of reflection in the jungle’, adding ‘I just realised I wanted to be on my own, I don’t need a relationship. I hope we can remain friends.’

When asked if Alex, 34, was still her boyfriend, she replied: ‘I’m not with him’.

‘I know people might think it’s harsh, but a lot of things have happened since I came out, I’ve done a lot of thinking in there, lots of things shouldn’t have happened while I was in there and they have.

‘I can’t live my life by everyone else, I have to think of me and my children and I am so much happier as a person.’

Writing on her Twitter micro-blogging page shortly after her live interview, she wrote: ‘I feeeel sooo goood today.’

Earlier as Alex boarded his flight to Australia on Sunday, he told waiting reporters: ‘I’m definitely asking her to marry me.

‘One idea is I make the proposal in front of the cameras on the show. But whatever happens I know this is right. I’ve never felt this way before.’

But it seems Katie didn’t share his feelings.

Sources close to the star said Alex was booked into the five star hotel Palazzo Versace on Australia’s Gold Coast, where Jordan has stayed since her departure from the show.

But on his arrival the concierge had refused to tell him which room she was in.

The source said: ‘An hour before she appeared on air Jordan summoned him and told him it was over.

‘She was fed up with him making money from her. Friends say he is devastated.’

Miss Price warned producers about her announcement just minutes before filming started.

The brunette also confessed to viewers that she had behaved terribly since her split from Peter Andre in May.

source: dailymail

Leave a Reply

